The Stabby Pen

We write. We rant. We wrestle the magic.

Summer Reads Scavenger Hunt!

16th – 19th July 2014

 

The Zero Things That’s So Great About Summer

Fooled you didn’t I? Won’t find any 5 greatest blah blah’s about summer here. No sir (or ma’am). Can’t bring myself to type out the words for yet another post that will deify the sweltering months that occur betwixt the freezing ones. Why Do I think summer is so terrible? Read on!

0.1 When Will The Sweating Stop?!

Is anyone else tired of being vaguely moist from June through sometime in September? If you live anywhere near water (like me), humidity is the hydra we battle. Always sprouting up just when I think it’s beaten. Ever testing the earthly bonds of my deodorant. Enough already! Suck out all the moisture in the air and give it all to Arizona and see how they like it. Try living in instant swamp land that’s 120 degrees in the shade AND 100 percent humidity.

0.2 The Sun Tan is a Lie

For those lacking sufficient melanin in their skin to get that healthy golden color from the sun’s rays, there are only two states of being — deathly white and lobster red. There’s no middle ground. Tanning booths won’t help. Gradual build-up cannot suppress the skin’s wont for microsecond detonation and sizzle. We’ve heard of sun tans. We’ve just never seen one on ourselves that didn’t come from a bottle. Put too much of that stuff on and it’ll clog your pores, which leads to more skin-related issues.

0.3 Lemmings and Beach Traffic

I live off of a road that’s a direct artery to popular shore destinations, including Atlantic City. Every weekend, which feels like it starts on Thursday at 3PM, traffic snarls into an ad nauseum sea of people in too much of a hurry with no idea where they’re going. They know just one thing: they have to get their right now and bumpers be damned. A significant number of them never make it to the beach, but they do manage to tie up traffic for several days while emergency crews cut them out of their overloaded SUVs.

 0.4 I’m (Mostly) Kidding!

Summer is a great time to catch up on reading, get the family to see some of this expansive country or catch up on the book you should be writing (I’m writing! I swear!). What we could all use is a little slowdown in our hurry up so we actually live long enough to enjoy our vacations. And less sweating. Seriously. We could all just sweat a little less and the trains around here would smell so much nicer.

My Summer Reads Scavenger Hunt Stop!

The Summer Reads Scavenger Hunt will run from TODAY until midnight on SUNDAY (19th July). To enter to win FORTY signed paperbacks by a wide range of authors PLUS $30 worth of Amazon Gift Cards, simply hop around ALL participating stops, collect all of the highlighted numbers, add them together, and then go enter the requested details along with your calculated answer in the ENTRY FORM. You can find more information on how the stop works HERE. All stops will direct you to the next place to hop across to. And don’t worry if you get lost, because the entire list of participating authors can be found HERE.

My Stop: None other than New York Times Best Selling Author Maria V. Snyder.

Summer Reads Scavenger Hunt

The Prize:  Maria has been gracious enough to provide a set of signed bookmarks and a very rare cover flat of the UK adult edition of Magic Study – they never printed the adult editions of this book – only the YA editions (which has another cover) so they sent her the covers to use as giveaways.  She will personalize the cover flat for the winner and sign it as well.

How To Win: Comment on the blog entry! I’ll be tabulating the comments and will choose a commenter at random for the win. Length of comment doesn’t matter, but try to say something nice.

My Tour Number: 21 (you’ll need this to win the grand prize)

The Next Tour Stop!  J.K. Rock Http://www.jkrock.net

 Or, if you have all of your numbers and are ready to enter, then hop across to the Summer Reads Scavenger Hunt Entry Form.

86 comments on “Summer Reads Scavenger Hunt!

  1. Texas Book Lover
    July 17, 2014

    What a great prize! Thanks so much for the chance!

  2. Kassandra Zamora
    July 17, 2014

    I love her books! Thanks for the chance to win!

  3. t star
    July 17, 2014

    I love this summer giveaway

  4. Hannah L.
    July 17, 2014

    Loved your clever blog post! Really hope I win, I’m a huge Maria V. Snyder fan!

  5. Christine K.
    July 17, 2014

    I love Maria V. Snyder, thanks for the giveaway! My UK paperback copy of Poison study has a weird cover similar to the one in the photo, I wonder if they are related?

  6. Kristina D
    July 17, 2014

    Great prizes, love her books

  7. elena k
    July 17, 2014

    what a fantastic giveaway! thanks

  8. BookLady
    July 17, 2014

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

  9. Dee
    July 18, 2014

    What an awesome prize! I would love it since Maria V. Snyder is one of my favorite authors! 🙂

  10. bn100
    July 18, 2014

    Interesting list

  11. Erin S
    July 18, 2014

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway! I love Maria’s books!

  12. Sarmillar
    July 18, 2014

    Great giveaway! I should definitely read one of Maria V. Snyder’s books!

  13. robyn donnelly
    July 18, 2014

    Wow I really do look forward to reading your books. Thanks for the chance.

  14. Awesome giveaway! I think that’s awesome the list you chose.. Even if I do love summer and HATE winter. 😉

  15. Alicia
    July 18, 2014

    I love the Poison Study series, it is one of my favorites!

    I live in FL, so you kind of get used to the sweating over the course of the year, and I have naturally brown skin so I don’t really turn red ;). Nonetheless, for us, Summer is the worst season and winter tends to have the best weather (but that also means that a lot of snowbirds come down south, which makes driving less fun).

    Thanks for having the giveaway!

  16. Melissa L
    July 18, 2014

    I love this concept! I wish there was time to run around and enter for everyones swag but I shouldn’t be greedy lol! I’ve always admired Maria’s work so I hope I get a chance to win some of her swag!

    I can’t wait for Summer back in Australia, currently it’s wet and miserable. I’ll swap you anyday! 🙂

  17. Chris Huang
    July 19, 2014

    Love this scavenger hunt! Always looking for new books to read. What a perfect way to find them.

  18. Catherine
    July 19, 2014

    These give swag bags are amazing and the scavenger hunt is awesome! I love the Study series and am sooo glad more are coming!!!!

  19. Michelle M.
    July 19, 2014

    This scavenger hunt has truly been a blast I’m having a ball checking out all the authors and their books. I look forward to reading yours Mr. Lister.

  20. Charlee
    July 19, 2014

    I really enjoyed the Scavenger Hunt. there should be more like it! Ive Read a few of Maria’s books and got intrigued 🙂

  21. Rebekah
    July 19, 2014

    What a great prize. Love her books 🙂

  22. Fatima Tariq
    July 19, 2014

    Thanks for the giveaway :)I would really love to win!

  23. lavendersbluegreen
    July 19, 2014

    I like the snarky post. Almost as much as I liked your post on piracy (LOVE love loved that one). Thanks for the giveaway, this has been a delightful hop…

  24. Ginny
    July 19, 2014

    LOL..great post. I am not the biggest fan of the sweltering hot heat of summer so I really liked this one. 🙂 Thanks for the chance to win. Love Maria Snyder’s Poison Study series.

  25. Nina Xue
    July 19, 2014

    Love the unique bookmarks and cover. Thanks for this giveaway 🙂

  26. Brooke Propson
    July 20, 2014

    Thank you for the opportunity of a giveaway!

  27. Pippa
    July 20, 2014

    Wow great giveaway! Such cool stuff 🙂

  28. Iffi K
    July 21, 2014

    I love Maria and her books! Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

  29. Sally Pritchett
    July 22, 2014

    I just want to say thank you for the giveaway. Got an email from the lovely lady herself (Maria) saying that I had won the prize. So happy right now! 🙂
    So thank you Jonathan for giving us the chance to win.
    Really looking forward to getting the prize through the post.
    Thank you! 🙂

    • Jonathan Lister
      July 22, 2014

      Enjoy Sally! Thanks so much for stopping by and participating. This was a lot of fun from all sides.

  30. Sally Pritchett
    July 24, 2014

    I will. 🙂 Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2014 by in Publishing News.

Goodreads

At Ground Level

Pork belly Way.

Follow me on Twitter

